Sunday, September 14, 2008

The Ultimate Aussie Prog Rock Album, Golden Miles: Australian Progressive Rock 1969-74

Golden Miles: Australian Progressive Rock

This album is all you really need if you want to hear the brilliance of what was aussie prog rock in the early 70's

Here's what allmusic.comhas to say

Reissue specialists Raven Records (Australia) -- co-founded by Oz Rock's human encyclopedia Glenn A. Baker -- have done a sterling job over the years of resurrecting great music from the past. This two-CD set (two and a half hours of playing time) is a proverbial cornucopia of intriguing, and largely forgotten, prog rock from some fine antipodean exponents of the genre. Actually, many of these artists found success in the mainstream Down Under, but Golden Miles showcases them in their more adventurous moments. The stylistic range across the album's 30 tracks is quite stunning, but certainly this is progressive rock -- just don't expect everything to sound like King Crimson. Ear-catching tracks include the jazz-slanted "Make Your Stash" by legendary Aussie rockers Daddy Cool (best known for their rock & roll anthem "Eagle Rock"), the Zappa-ish "Make It Begin" by Sons of the Vegetal Mother (also fronted by Daddy Cool singer Ross Wilson), and the quaking "'Til My Death" by avant-garde metallurgists Buffalo (from their landmark 1973 album, Volcanic Rock). But the curio of curios is "Seasons of Change" by Fraternity, a tuneful, psychedelic folk-rock number sung by none other than a pre-AC/DC Bon Scott. Excellent liner notes include a capsule bio (written by Ian McFarlane) on each band and an overview of the period (from Baker). Probably of most interest to collectors, aficionados, and those who personally remember this musical chapter of yore, many casual listeners will also find Golden Miles very entertaining fare. ~ Adrian Zupp, All Music Guide
Track Listing - Disc 1: (71:21 m:s)
  1. Bakery - No Dying In The Dark (Bakery) (3:11 m:s)
  2. Carson - Travelling South (G Lawrie) (3:10 m:s)
  3. Lotus - Lotus One (Lotus) (3:45 m:s)
  4. Healing Force - Golden Miles L Wells) (3:19 m:s)
  5. Bulldog - Inner Spring (M Rodgers / P Miles) (2:47 m:s)
  6. The Master's Apprentices - Melodies Of St Kilda / Southern Cross (J Keays / D Ford) (7:54 m:s)
  7. Galadriel - Girl Of 17 (S Scholten) (4:39 m:s)
  8. Tamam Shud - Lady Sunshine (L Bjerre) (4:35 m:s)
  9. Tully - You Realise You Realise (R Lockwood) (2:56 m:s)
  10. The Wild Cherries - I Am The Sea (Stop Killing Me) (L Loyde) (3:27 m:s)
  11. Jeff St John's Copperwine - Fanciful Flights Of Mind (J St John / P Figures) (3:23 m:s)
  12. Melissa - Getting Through (J Creighton) (4:08 m:s)
  13. Pirana - Here It Comes Again (T Hamilton) (2:44 m:s)
  14. King Harvest - Wichita Lineman (J Webb) (4:10 m:s)
  15. Friends - Freedom Train (C Tumahai) (3:55 m:s)
  16. Fraternity - Seasons Of Change (J Robinson / N Johns) (3:34 m:s)
  17. Freshwater - Satan's Woman (M Patridge) (2:59 m:s)
  18. Fanny Adams - Ain't No Loving Left (Fanny Adams) (6:45 m:s)
Track Listing - Disc 2: (75:34 m:s)
  1. Daddy Cool - - Make Your Stash (R Wilson) (6:04 m:s)
  2. Spectrum - Superbody (M Rudd) (9:12 m:s)
  3. Company Caine - The Day Superman Got Busted (Comapny Caine) (6:20 m:s)
  4. Kahvas Jute - Free (D Wilson) (5:12 m:s)
  5. Blackfeather - Long Legged Lovely (J Robinson / N Johns) (7:30 m:s)
  6. Tymepiece - Shake Off (A Oloman) (8:12 m:s)
  7. Sons Of The Vegetal Mother - Make It Begin (R Wilson) (5:00 m:s)
  8. Coloured Balls - Human Being (L Loyde) (6:00 m:s)
  9. Buffalo - 'Til My Death (D Tice) (5:34 m:s)
  10. Madder Lake - 12lb Toothbrush (Madder Lake) (6:00 m:s)
  11. MacKenzie Theory - Extra Terrestrial Boogie (R MacKenzie) (5:47 m:s)
  12. Dragon - - Darkness (Dragon) (4:43 m:s)
Buy here

No comments: