Wednesday, May 14, 2008

My CD Find of the Year ! Golden Miles: Australian Progressive Rock

Here is something really special for all Australian readers, I AM VERY EXCITED !!!, the double compilation album Golden Miles: Australian Progressive Rock reissued by Raven Records (Australia) about 9 years ago

It's a brilliant document of lost Aussie prog recordings. Some of the artists al;so did popular music but this is all classic prog.

Here's a quote from a review All Music Guide

"The stylistic range across the album's 30 tracks is quite stunning, but certainly this is progressive rock -- just don't expect everything to sound like King Crimson. Ear-catching tracks include the jazz-slanted "Make Your Stash" by legendary Aussie rockers Daddy Cool (best known for their rock & roll anthem "Eagle Rock"), the Zappa-ish "Make It Begin" by Sons of the Vegetal Mother (also fronted by Daddy Cool singer Ross Wilson), and the quaking "'Til My Death" by avant-garde metallurgists Buffalo (from their landmark 1973 album, Volcanic Rock). But the curio of curios is "Seasons of Change" by Fraternity, a tuneful, psychedelic folk-rock number sung by none other than a pre-AC/DC Bon Scott. Excellent liner notes include a capsule bio (written by Ian McFarlane) on each band and an overview of the period (from Baker). Probably of most interest to collectors, aficionados, and those who personally remember this musical chapter of yore, many casual listeners will also find Golden Miles very entertaining fare. ~ Adrian Zupp, All Music Guide"

Track Listing

Disc: 1
1. No Dying in the Dark - Bakery
2. Travelling South - Carson
3. Lotus 1 - Lotus
4. Golden Miles - Healing Force
5. Inner Spring - Bulldog
6. Melodies of St. Kilda/Southern Cross - The Master's Apprentices
7. Girl of 17 - Galadriel
8. Lady Sunshine - Tamam Shud
9. You Realise You Realise - Tully
10. I Am the Sea - Wild Cherries
11. Fanciful Flights of Mind - Copperwine, , Jeff St. John
12. Getting Through - Melissa
13. Here It Comes Again - Pirana
14. Wichita Lineman - King Harvest
15. Freedom Train - Friends
16. Seasons of Change - Fraternity
17. Satan's Woman - Freshwater
18. Ain't No Loving Left - Fanny Adams
Disc: 2
1. Make Your Stash - Daddy Cool
2. Superbody - Spectrum
3. Day Superman Got Busted - Company Caine
4. Free - Kahvas Jute
5. Long Legged Lovely - Blackfeather
6. Shake Off - Tymeplace
7. Make It Begin - Sons of the Vegetal Mother
8. Human Being - Coloured Balls
9. 'Til My Death - Buffalo
10. 12 Lb Toothbrush - Madder Lake
11. Extra Terrestrial Boogie - Mackenzie Theory
12. Darkness - Dragon

You can buy it here

No comments: